About NRM Regional Organisations

Australia has 56 regional natural resource management (NRM) organisations that cover all of Australia. They are a mix of government agencies and non-government organisations (NGOs) that get national priorities for natural resource management delivered on the ground.

Regional natural resource management is about the planning and delivery of programs that support healthy and productive country, viable communities and sustainable industries. Regional NRM organisations work from the paddock to the regional scale to address issues that require a landscape perspective. Our approach enables community and landcare activity to better address long term strategic issues of national importance.

The 56 NRM regional organisations cover Australia’s land area as well as estuarine and coastal areas. Many of these organisations have been in existence since the mid-1990s. While they have different constitutions (some are established by State Governments others through relevant Community Associations legislation and one, Ocean Watch, by the seafood industry) they have all been recognised as regional NRM organisations by the Federal Government as part of the Natural Heritage Trust and its successor programs including the National Landcare Programme.

All regional NRM organisations are governed by Boards of directors that represent their regional community’s NRM perspectives and priorities.  Boards are appointed by State/Territory governments in South Australia, New South Wales, Victoria, and elected or appointed by the community/stakeholders in Western Australia, Tasmania, Queensland, the Northern Territory and Ocean Watch. The ACT government is the regional NRM organisation for that Territory and has appointed an advisory committee to assist the department.

NRM Regions Australia

NRM Regions Australia is the representative group of the National NRM Chairs’ Forum and is responsible for progressing business between annual Forum meetings. The Forum of all the Chairs of Australia’s 56 regional NRM bodies was established by the then Natural Resource Ministerial Council in 2003 and, until 2010, met with the Council in April each year (the Council was disbanded in 2011).

In Brisbane (April 2007), the National NRM Chairs Forum, mindful of the need to ensure discussions with the Australian Government (and other organisations) on how NRM policy was coordinated, delegated the NRM Regions Australia as having primary responsibility for communication with Ministers on behalf of the 56 NRM regional bodies across Australia.

NRM Regions Australia meets 8 times a year by teleconference and twice a year in person, usually in Canberra. As of January 2018 the members are:

Parry Aguis Independent Chair
James Walch Tasmania
Richard Bull New South Wales
Stephen Robertson Queensland
Jim Sullivan Western Australia
Diana Laube South Australia
Clare Martin Northern Territory
Alice Knight Victoria
Paul Davies ACT
Andrew Drysdale Queensland
Kathleen Broderick Western Australia
Matthew Ward South Australia
Karen May Northern Territory
David Witherdin New South Wales
Tim Wong ACT
Rosanna Coombes Tasmania
Chris Norman Victoria
Executive Officer:  
Kate Andrews Chief Executive Officer