NRM Regions Australia is the representative group of the National NRM Chairs’ Forum and responsible for progressing business between annual Forum meetings. The Forum of all the Chairs of Australia’s 56 regional NRM bodies was established by the then Natural Resource Ministerial Council in 2003 and, until 2010, met with the Council in April each year (the Council was disbanded in 2011).

In Brisbane (April 2007), the National NRM Chairs Forum, mindful of the need to ensure discussions with the Australian Government (and other organisations) on how NRM policy was coordinated, delegated the NRM Regions Australia as having primary responsibility for communication with Ministers on behalf of the 56 NRM regional bodies across Australia.

NRM Regions Australia meets 8 times a year by teleconference and twice a year in person, usually in Canberra. As of January 2015 the members are:

Max Kitchell Convenor
Rick Rockcliff Tasmania
Alex Anthony New South Wales
Mike Berwick Queensland
Bill Hollingsworth Western Australia
Sharon Starick South Australia
Clare Martin Northern Territory
Alice Knight Victoria
Paul Davies ACT
Andrew Drysdale Queensland
Kathleen Broderick Western Australia
Hugo Hopton South Australia
Karen May Northern Territory
Tim Ferraro New South Wales
Tim Wong ACT
Fiona Beynon Department of the Environment
Sally Standen Department of Agriculture
Executive Officer:  
Danny O’Neill Executive Officer