Cape York NRM

Natural Resources Kangaroo Island

Natural Resources Eyre Peninsula

Torres Strait Regional Authority

The TSRA is a Commonwealth Authority which was established on 1 July 1994 under the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Commission Act 1989, now known as the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Act 2005 (ATSI Act 2005This link will navigate you away from this website). It is the leading Commonwealth representative body for Torres Strait Islander and Aboriginal people living in the Torres Strait.

The TSRA consists of an elected arm and an administrative arm. The elected arm is comprised of 20 elected representatives who are Torres Strait Islander and Aboriginal people living in the Torres Strait region. Up until 2012, seventeen TSRA Members were Torres Strait Island Regional Council (TSIRC) and Northern Peninsula Area Regional Council (NPARC) Councillors elected under the Local Government Act 1993 (Qld), while three TSRA Members were elected under Division 5 of the ATSI Act 2005 (for the TSC wards).

Visit their website.

North East Catchment Management Authority

North East Catchment Management Authority

The North East Catchment Management Authority is one of ten authorities established by the Victorian Government in July 1997. Each CMA works with the community, government and funding organisations to protect and enhance land, water and biodiversity resources.

The North East CMA encourage landholders, community groups and government to address the ‘big’ natural resource management issues facing their region, including adapting to climate change, fostering sustainable agriculture, managing cultural heritage and identifying the impacts of ‘tree change’ trends on land management in the North East.

They have offices in Wodonga, Kiewa and Everton.

The region

Victoria’s north east is rich in natural assets; snow topped mountains, river valleys, open plains and natural forests.

The region is bounded by the Murray River in the north, the Victorian Alps in the south, the NSW border in the east and the Warby Ranges in the west. It takes in the local government municipalities of Wodonga, Indigo, Wangaratta, Alpine and Towong, plus parts of the Moira and East Gippsland shires.

Approximately 102,000 people live in the north east, contributing some $3.24 billion a year to Victoria’s economic wealth. The main industries in the region are agriculture (dairy, beef, lamb, wool, cropping and horticulture), forest products, tourism, value-added processing industries and manufacturing.

Visit the North East CMA website.

Natural Resources Alinytjara Wilurara

Natural Resources Alinytjara Wilurara works together with the community to manage the environment in a way that achieves a balance between a collective need for resources and the needs of the environment. Their work aims to achieve the targets set out in the region’s Natural Resources Management Plan. This Plan was developed by Alinytjara Wilurara Natural Resources Management Board in partnership with the community and stakeholders. This Plan is delivered through a diverse range of programs and projects across the region.

The Alinytjara Wilurara (AW) natural resource management (NRM) region covers the north west third of South Australia. In Pitjantjatjara, ‘alinytjara’ means ‘north’ and ‘wilurara’ means ‘west’.

The AW NRM region covers more than 250,000 square kilometres, stretching from the Northern Territory and West Australian borders south to the Great Australian Bight. The regional boundary extends to the edge of the State Waters (three nautical miles off-shore) in the Great Australian Bight and includes the South Australian part of the Great Australian Bight Marine Park. The land and its 340 kilometres of coastline are mostly dedicated to conservation and traditional Aboriginal use and occupation. The homelands and community townships are inhabited by approximately 4,000 people. The region is managed as nine distinct landscapes.

There is no privately owned land in the region. More than half of AW is held as dedicated Aboriginal lands and is owned or in the trust of three key land holding authorities:

  • Yalata (vested in the Aboriginal Lands Trust under the Aboriginal Lands Trust Act 1966)
  • Anangu Pitjantjatjara Yankunytjatjara (APY) Lands (vested in the Anangu Pitjantjatjara under the Pitjantjatjara Land Rights Act 1981)
  • Maralinga Tjarutja (MT) Lands (vested in the Maralinga Tjarutja under the Maralinga Tjarutja Land Rights Act 1984)

Visit their website.