About Northern and Yorke Landscape Board*

The Northern and Yorke region extends for 38,500 square kilometres. It is a varied and productive portion of South Australia and includes 1,300km of coastline and adjacent marine areas.

The region encompasses the Yorke Peninsula, significant areas of Spencer Gulf and Gulf St Vincent, the southern Flinders Ranges, parts of the Rangelands, the Mid North, the northern Mount Lofty Ranges, the Barossa and northern Adelaide Plains.

The region supports a population of approximately 150,000 people who reside in agricultural, coastal and urban communities. It welcomes a large number of visitors each year to destinations that include Innes National Park, the Barossa Valley, the Clare Valley and the Southern Flinders Ranges.

The region includes traditional Aboriginal lands of the Narungga, Nukunu, Ngadjuri, Kaurna and Peramangk people.

The major urban centres are Port Pirie, Gawler, Nuriootpa, Clare, Burra, Peterborough, Kadina, Moonta and Wallaroo.

Natural resources underpin a range of industries. Approximately 80% of the region is under agricultural cropping and grazing production contributing a quarter of South Australia's agricultural earnings. The region embraces the major Barossa Valley and Clare Valley wine growing regions, and supports significant mining and mineral processing activities, fishing, aquaculture, forestry, horticulture and tourism.

Visit their website.

Formerly 'Natural Resources Northern and Yorke'. Note that from the 1 July 2020, landscape regions replaced NRM regions in South Australia.